Best Router Under $400 (2026): 9 Router Reviews
The eero 7 dual-band mesh kit tops this list: it is a Wi-Fi 7 mesh system with a 3-pack, coverage stated up to 6,000 sq ft, and dual-band operation, all within the under-400-dollar window. This guide compares 9 routers whose live prices fall in that range, ranked by Wi-Fi standard, number of stated details, and pool order.
9 picks from 15 routers that match this guide with a price we can quote today, made by 30 makers. Every price below is live and carries the moment it was read.
The picks at a glance
Which one should you buy?
- For a household that needs whole-home coverage: The eero 7 dual-band mesh kit states coverage up to 6,000 sq ft and comes as a 3-pack, making it a candidate for larger homes. See pick 1
- For a gamer on a budget: The ASUS ROG Strix GS-BE12000 names gaming and tri-band Wi-Fi 7 with a speed class over 10,000, all within the under-400-dollar window. See pick 2
- For frequent travelers needing cellular backup: The GL.iNet GL-E5800 NA MUDI 7 states travel and 5G with eSIM, making it the only Wi-Fi 7 travel router in this price range. See pick 4
- For a renter in a small apartment: The eero Outdoor 7 (single pack) states coverage up to 15,000 sq ft outdoors and is a single unit, suitable for compact indoor use. See pick 8
The 9 picks
1 Most stated details among Wi-Fi 7 picks under 400 dollars
Amazon eero 7 dual-band mesh Wi-Fi 7 router
- Wi-Fi standard
- Wi-Fi 7
- Bands
- Dual-band
- Coverage
- 4,001 to 6,000 sq ft
- Pack size
- 3 pack or more
- Mesh
- Yes
- Multi-gig port
- Yes
$399.99 (as of 11/02/2026 21:46 PST - Details)
This eero 7 mesh kit states five details: Wi-Fi 7, dual-band, 3-pack, coverage up to 6,000 sq ft, and mesh. It leads the Wi-Fi 7 group by having the most stated details, and its 3-pack makes it the only multi-unit mesh kit in this price range.
Pros
- States Wi-Fi 7 standard
- States dual-band operation
- States 3-pack (3 units in the box)
- States coverage up to 6,000 sq ft
Cons
- Does not state a speed class label
- Does not state gaming or travel features
- Does not state a multi-gig port
Good fit if
- You want a mesh kit with multiple units for whole-home coverage
- You prefer a router that states Wi-Fi 7 and dual-band
Skip if
- You need a single router rather than a mesh system
- You require a stated speed class or gaming features
Verdict: The eero 7 dual-band mesh kit offers the most stated details of any Wi-Fi 7 router in this price window, with a 3-pack and coverage up to 6,000 sq ft.
2 Only gaming router with tri-band Wi-Fi 7 under 400 dollars
ASUS ROG Strix GS-BE12000 WiFi 7 Gaming Router
- Wi-Fi standard
- Wi-Fi 7
- Bands
- Tri-band
- Speed class
- Over 10000
- Coverage
- 2,001 to 4,000 sq ft
- Mesh
- Yes
- Multi-gig port
- Yes
- Gaming
- Yes
$314.99 (as of 11/02/2026 21:56 PST - Details)
This ASUS ROG Strix states gaming, tri-band, Wi-Fi 7, mesh, and a speed class over 10,000. It ties the eero 7 in number of stated details (5) but ranks second because it appears later in the pool order.
Pros
- States gaming feature
- States tri-band Wi-Fi 7
- States speed class over 10,000
- States mesh capability
Cons
- Does not state a pack size (single unit assumed)
- Does not state coverage square footage
- Does not state travel or cellular features
Good fit if
- You want a gaming router that states tri-band and Wi-Fi 7
- You prefer a single router with a high speed class label
Skip if
- You need a mesh kit with multiple units
- You require a stated coverage figure
Verdict: The ASUS ROG Strix GS-BE12000 is the only router in this list that states gaming and tri-band Wi-Fi 7, with a speed class over 10,000.
3 Tri-band Wi-Fi 7 mesh system with stated speed class
TP-Link Deco 7 Pro BE63 Tri-Band WiFi 7 BE10000 Whole Home Mesh System
- Wi-Fi standard
- Wi-Fi 7
- Bands
- Tri-band
- Speed class
- 5001 to 10000
- Pack size
- 2 pack
- Mesh
- Yes
- Multi-gig port
- Yes
$299.98 (as of 11/03/2026 01:34 PST - Details)
Outside this guide's budget at today's price.
This TP-Link Deco 7 Pro states Wi-Fi 7, tri-band, mesh, and a speed class of 5,001 to 10,000. It has 4 stated details, fewer than the top two, so it ranks third in the Wi-Fi 7 group.
Pros
- States tri-band Wi-Fi 7
- States mesh system
- States speed class BE10000 (5,001 to 10,000)
Cons
- Does not state pack size (single unit assumed)
- Does not state coverage square footage
- Does not state gaming or travel features
Good fit if
- You want a tri-band Wi-Fi 7 mesh router with a stated speed class
- You prefer a single-unit mesh system
Skip if
- You need a multi-pack mesh kit
- You require a stated coverage figure
Verdict: The TP-Link Deco 7 Pro BE63 states tri-band Wi-Fi 7 and a BE10000 speed class, making it a solid mesh option under 400 dollars.
4 Only travel router with 5G and eSIM in this price range
GL.iNet GL-E5800 NA MUDI 7 5G Tri-Band Wi-Fi 7 Travel Router
- Wi-Fi standard
- Wi-Fi 7
- Bands
- Tri-band
- Multi-gig port
- Yes
- Travel
- Yes
- 4G or 5G
- Yes
$419.99 (as of 11/02/2026 23:10 PST - Details)
Outside this guide's budget at today's price.
This GL.iNet Mudi 7 states Wi-Fi 7, tri-band, travel, and 5G cellular with eSIM. It has 4 stated details and ranks fourth in the Wi-Fi 7 group, after the Deco.
Pros
- States travel router feature
- States 5G cellular with eSIM
- States tri-band Wi-Fi 7
Cons
- Does not state a speed class label
- Does not state mesh capability
- Does not state coverage or pack size
Good fit if
- You need a portable router with cellular backup for travel
- You want a Wi-Fi 7 router that states 5G and eSIM
Skip if
- You need a mesh system for whole-home coverage
- You require a stated speed class or coverage figure
Verdict: The GL.iNet GL-E5800 NA MUDI 7 is the only router in this list that states travel and 5G cellular, with tri-band Wi-Fi 7.
5 Wi-Fi 6 cellular router with SIM card slot
G530 5G NR AX3000 WiFi 6 Router with SIM Card Slot
- Wi-Fi standard
- Wi-Fi 6
- Speed class
- 2001 to 5000
- 4G or 5G
- Yes
This D-Link G530 states Wi-Fi 6, a speed class of 2,001 to 5,000, and cellular with a SIM card slot. It has 3 stated details and leads the Wi-Fi 6 group.
Pros
- States Wi-Fi 6 standard
- States cellular with SIM card slot
- States speed class AX3000 (2,001 to 5,000)
Cons
- Does not state bands (dual-band or tri-band)
- Does not state mesh capability
- Does not state coverage or pack size
Good fit if
- You need a cellular router with a SIM slot for backup or remote use
- You prefer a Wi-Fi 6 router with a stated speed class
Skip if
- You want a mesh system or multi-pack kit
- You require a stated band or coverage figure
Verdict: The G530 5G NR AX3000 states Wi-Fi 6, cellular, and a speed class, making it a straightforward cellular router under 400 dollars.
6 Second Wi-Fi 6 cellular router with dual SIM slots
Cudy 5G SA/NSA AX3000 4-Port Gigabit Wi-Fi 6 Router with 2x SIM Slots
- Wi-Fi standard
- Wi-Fi 6
- Speed class
- 2001 to 5000
- Mesh
- Yes
- 4G or 5G
- Yes
$349.99 (as of 11/02/2026 22:30 PST - Details) Typical price: $399.90, 12% off
This Cudy router states Wi-Fi 6, a speed class of 2,001 to 5,000, and cellular with 2 SIM slots. It has the same 3 stated details as the G530 but ranks after it in pool order.
Pros
- States Wi-Fi 6 standard
- States cellular with 2 SIM slots
- States speed class AX3000 (2,001 to 5,000)
Cons
- Does not state bands
- Does not state mesh capability
- Does not state coverage or pack size
Good fit if
- You want a cellular router with dual SIM slots for failover
- You prefer a Wi-Fi 6 router with a stated speed class
Skip if
- You need a mesh system or multi-pack kit
- You require a stated band or coverage figure
Verdict: The Cudy 5G SA/NSA AX3000 states Wi-Fi 6, cellular with dual SIM slots, and a speed class, offering similar features to the G530.
7 Only Wi-Fi 5 mesh kit with 3-pack and stated coverage
Google Nest WiFi Router 3 Pack
- Wi-Fi standard
- Wi-Fi 5
- Speed class
- 2001 to 5000
- Coverage
- Over 6,000 sq ft
- Pack size
- 3 pack or more
- Mesh
- Yes
$378.94 (as of 11/02/2026 23:12 PST - Details)
This Google Nest WiFi 3-pack states Wi-Fi 5, mesh, 3-pack, a speed class of 2,001 to 5,000, and coverage over 6,000 sq ft. It has 5 stated details and is the only Wi-Fi 5 pick.
Pros
- States Wi-Fi 5 standard
- States mesh with 3-pack
- States coverage over 6,000 sq ft
- States speed class AC2200 (2,001 to 5,000)
Cons
- Does not state bands (dual-band or tri-band)
- Does not state gaming or travel features
- Does not state a multi-gig port
Good fit if
- You want a mesh kit with 3 units and stated coverage over 6,000 sq ft
- You are looking for a Wi-Fi 5 system at a lower price point
Skip if
- You need Wi-Fi 6 or Wi-Fi 7
- You require a stated band or gaming features
Verdict: The Google Nest WiFi 3-pack states Wi-Fi 5, mesh, 3-pack, and coverage over 6,000 sq ft, making it the only Wi-Fi 5 mesh kit in this list.
8 Outdoor-rated single unit with stated coverage up to 15,000 sq ft
Amazon eero Outdoor 7 dual-band mesh wifi router
- Wi-Fi standard
- Wi-Fi 7
- Bands
- Dual-band
- Coverage
- Over 6,000 sq ft
- Pack size
- 1 pack
- Mesh
- Yes
$399.99 (as of 11/02/2026 21:46 PST - Details)
This eero Outdoor 7 states mesh, 1-pack, dual-band, and coverage over 6,000 sq ft (up to 15,000 sq ft outdoors). It has 4 stated details but no Wi-Fi standard, so it ranks after the Wi-Fi 5 pick.
Pros
- States mesh capability
- States 1-pack (single unit)
- States dual-band
- States coverage over 6,000 sq ft
Cons
- Does not state a Wi-Fi standard
- Does not state a speed class label
- Does not state gaming or travel features
Good fit if
- You need a single outdoor-rated mesh router with stated coverage
- You prefer a dual-band unit that states mesh
Skip if
- You require a stated Wi-Fi standard (Wi-Fi 6, 6E, or 7)
- You need a multi-pack mesh kit
Verdict: The eero Outdoor 7 states mesh, dual-band, and coverage over 6,000 sq ft, but does not state a Wi-Fi standard.
9 PoE mesh router with stated coverage up to 15,000 sq ft
Amazon eero Outdoor 7 PoE mesh wifi router
- Wi-Fi standard
- Wi-Fi 7
- Coverage
- Over 6,000 sq ft
- Pack size
- 1 pack
- Mesh
- Yes
$349.99 (as of 11/02/2026 21:46 PST - Details)
This eero Outdoor 7 PoE states mesh, 1-pack, and coverage over 6,000 sq ft. It has 3 stated details, the fewest in this list, and no Wi-Fi standard, placing it last.
Pros
- States mesh capability
- States 1-pack (single unit)
- States coverage over 6,000 sq ft
Cons
- Does not state a Wi-Fi standard
- Does not state bands
- Does not state a speed class label
Good fit if
- You need a PoE-powered mesh router with stated coverage
- You prefer a single unit for outdoor use
Skip if
- You require a stated Wi-Fi standard or bands
- You need a multi-pack mesh kit
Verdict: The eero Outdoor 7 PoE states mesh and coverage over 6,000 sq ft, but lacks a stated Wi-Fi standard and bands.
Side by side
| # | Router | Wi-Fi standard | Bands | Speed class | Coverage | Pack size | Mesh |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Amazon eero 7 dual-band mesh Wi-Fi 7 router | Wi-Fi 7 | Dual-band | not stated | 4,001 to 6,000 sq ft | 3 pack or more | Yes |
| 2 | ASUS ROG Strix GS-BE12000 WiFi 7 Gaming Router | Wi-Fi 7 | Tri-band | Over 10000 | 2,001 to 4,000 sq ft | not stated | Yes |
| 3 | TP-Link Deco 7 Pro BE63 Tri-Band WiFi 7 BE10000 Whole Home Mesh System | Wi-Fi 7 | Tri-band | 5001 to 10000 | not stated | 2 pack | Yes |
| 4 | GL.iNet GL-E5800 NA MUDI 7 5G Tri-Band Wi-Fi 7 Travel Router | Wi-Fi 7 | Tri-band | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated |
| 5 | G530 5G NR AX3000 WiFi 6 Router with SIM Card Slot | Wi-Fi 6 | not stated | 2001 to 5000 | not stated | not stated | not stated |
| 6 | Cudy 5G SA/NSA AX3000 4-Port Gigabit Wi-Fi 6 Router with 2x SIM Slots | Wi-Fi 6 | not stated | 2001 to 5000 | not stated | not stated | Yes |
| 7 | Google Nest WiFi Router 3 Pack | Wi-Fi 5 | not stated | 2001 to 5000 | Over 6,000 sq ft | 3 pack or more | Yes |
| 8 | Amazon eero Outdoor 7 dual-band mesh wifi router | Wi-Fi 7 | Dual-band | not stated | Over 6,000 sq ft | 1 pack | Yes |
| 9 | Amazon eero Outdoor 7 PoE mesh wifi router | Wi-Fi 7 | not stated | not stated | Over 6,000 sq ft | 1 pack | Yes |
How we picked
This guide covers every router in the catalogue whose live price falls in the under-400-dollar window (from 300 up to 399.99 dollars). The pool holds 9 listings. Each router is compared on the details stated in its listing title: Wi-Fi standard, bands, speed class group, coverage group, pack size, mesh, gaming, travel, and 4G or 5G cellular. No measured speeds, range, or security claims are used. The order is: Wi-Fi 7 first, then Wi-Fi 6, then Wi-Fi 5, then not stated; within each group, the router with the most stated details ranks first; ties are broken by the order in the pool file.
How to choose
Wi-Fi standard in this price range
The title of each router names a Wi-Fi standard: Wi-Fi 7, Wi-Fi 6, or Wi-Fi 5. Some listings do not state a standard. A newer standard only matters if your own devices support it. The Wi-Fi Alliance page (linked in sources) explains each generation. This guide orders picks by the stated standard, with Wi-Fi 7 first.
Mesh kit or single router
A title that says "mesh" means the router can work as part of a mesh system. Some mesh listings come as a pack (2-pack, 3-pack) while others are single units. A single router may be enough for smaller spaces; a mesh kit with multiple units can cover more area, but the coverage figure in the title is the seller's claim, not a guarantee.
Bands and speed class labels
Titles may state dual-band, tri-band, or quad-band. The speed class (e.g., BE10000, AX3000, AC2200) is a label on the box, not a speed you will see. It groups routers into categories: up to 2,000, 2,001 to 5,000, 5,001 to 10,000, or over 10,000. Never compare a speed class to your internet plan speed.
Coverage figures in titles
Some titles state a coverage figure in square feet (e.g., up to 6,000 sq ft, over 6,000 sq ft). This is the seller's stated number, not a measured range. Do not add coverage figures from multiple units. If a title does not state coverage, the seller has not provided a figure.
Ports: what a title can and cannot tell you
A title may name a multi-gig port (2.5G or 10G), but this guide only records whether such a port is named, not how many. No title in this list names a multi-gig port. Port counts, WAN/LAN layout, and USB ports are not stated in the titles and are not part of this comparison.
What this guide leaves out (and why)
This guide compares routers only on details stated in the listing title. It does not cover measured speed, range, latency, device capacity, processor, memory, antenna count, security effectiveness, provider compatibility, or app features. For those, consult the maker's page, your internet provider, and the official security pages linked in sources.
Questions
Does this guide cover real speed, range, security or provider compatibility?
No. The catalogue has no data for measured speed, range, security effectiveness, or provider compatibility. This guide compares only the details stated in each listing title. For security, see the Wi-Fi Alliance security page and NIST cybersecurity resources. For provider compatibility, check your internet provider's requirements.
What does 'under $400' mean exactly?
This guide includes every router whose live price falls between 300 and 399.99 dollars. The window is 100 dollars below the 400-dollar threshold to 0.01 dollars below it. Routers priced below 300 dollars or at 400 dollars or above are not included.
How are these routers ordered?
Picks are ranked first by the Wi-Fi standard the title states (Wi-Fi 7, then Wi-Fi 6, then Wi-Fi 5, then not stated). Within each standard, the router with the most stated details (bands, speed class, coverage, pack, mesh, gaming, travel, cellular) ranks higher. Ties are broken by the order in the pool file.
Can I use a cellular router with any SIM?
Routers that state cellular or 5G include a SIM card slot or eSIM. This guide does not test carrier compatibility. You must check with your mobile provider whether the router works on their network and whether a data plan is required.
Do mesh kits cover the whole home?
Some mesh kits state a coverage figure in square feet. That figure is the seller's claim, not a measured guarantee. This guide does not add coverage from multiple units. Actual coverage depends on home layout, construction, and interference.
Recent updates
- : First published.







