BestRouter

When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more ›

Best Router Under $500 in 2026: 7 Picks by Stated Details

For a router under $500, the ASUS BD5 bundle leads this list: its title states Wi-Fi 7, mesh, a 3-pack and dual-band, and it is the only Wi-Fi 7 mesh 3-pack in this price window. This guide compares every router on the details each listing title states and on live prices, ordered by Wi-Fi standard and the number of stated details.

7 picks from 18 routers that match this guide with a price we can quote today, made by 30 makers. Every price below is live and carries the moment it was read.

The picks at a glance

Which one should you buy?

  • For a home that wants Wi-Fi 7 now: The ASUS BD5 bundle states Wi-Fi 7 and comes as a 3-pack mesh, so it suits a home that wants the newer standard across multiple units without leaving this price window. See pick 1
  • For online gaming: The ASUS ROG Rapture GT6 names gaming in its title, with tri-band Wi-Fi 6, a 2-pack mesh and a multi-gig port, and a stated coverage group of 4,001 to 6,000 sq ft. See pick 3
  • For a large home: The eero 6+ 3-pack mesh states coverage up to 6,000 sq ft in its title, a figure a buyer of a larger home may consider, though the title names no Wi-Fi standard. See pick 6
  • For a buyer who reads title details closely: The ASUS Lyra states six title details, including tri-band, a speed class group of 2,001 to 5,000, and coverage up to 6,000 sq ft, the second-most in this list. See pick 5

The 7 picks

1 Only Wi-Fi 7 mesh 3-pack in this list

Bundle of ASUS BD5 Dual-Band WiFi 7 Mesh

Bundle of ASUS BD5 Dual-Band WiFi 7 Mesh

Wi-Fi standard
Wi-Fi 7
Bands
Dual-band
Pack size
3 pack or more
Mesh
Yes
Multi-gig port
Yes

$436.77 (as of 11/02/2026 22:14 PST - Details)

View on Amazon

This is the first pick in the list because its title names Wi-Fi 7, the newest standard in this price window, and it states four other details: mesh, 3-pack, dual-band. It is the only Wi-Fi 7 mesh in the list, which puts it ahead of the single Wi-Fi 7 NETGEAR and the Wi-Fi 6 picks.

Pros

  • Wi-Fi 7 as stated in the title
  • Mesh system in a 3-pack
  • Dual-band as stated
  • Most stated details among the two Wi-Fi 7 picks

Cons

  • No coverage figure stated by the seller
  • No speed class stated by the seller
  • No multi-gig port named in the title

Good fit if

  • A home that wants Wi-Fi 7 across a 3-pack mesh in this price window
  • A buyer who wants the title to name mesh and pack size

Skip if

  • A buyer who needs a stated coverage figure in the title
  • A household that prefers a single router with a stated speed class

Verdict: The ASUS BD5 bundle leads the under $500 list because it is the only Wi-Fi 7 mesh 3-pack here, with dual-band stated.

2 Only single Wi-Fi 7 router in this list

NETGEAR Nighthawk WiFi 7 Router RS600

NETGEAR Nighthawk WiFi 7 Router RS600

Wi-Fi standard
Wi-Fi 7
Bands
Tri-band
Speed class
Over 10000
Coverage
2,001 to 4,000 sq ft
Multi-gig port
Yes

$499.87 (as of 11/03/2026 00:18 PST - Details)

View on Amazon

The NETGEAR Nighthawk RS600 ranks second: it is the only listing that names Wi-Fi 7 without a mesh or pack detail, so it sits right after the Wi-Fi 7 mesh pick. Its title also states a coverage group of 2,001 to 4,000 sq ft.

Pros

  • Wi-Fi 7 as stated in the title
  • Coverage of 2,001 to 4,000 sq ft stated
  • Only single Wi-Fi 7 listing in this price window

Cons

  • No mesh or pack size stated by the seller
  • No bands or speed class named in the title
  • No multi-gig port named

Good fit if

  • A buyer who wants a single Wi-Fi 7 router under $500
  • A household that wants a stated coverage figure in the title

Skip if

  • A home that wants a mesh system with multiple units
  • A buyer who needs the title to name bands or a multi-gig port

Verdict: The NETGEAR Nighthawk RS600 is the only single Wi-Fi 7 router in this list, with coverage stated up to 4,000 sq ft.

3 Names gaming, tri-band and a multi-gig port

ASUS ROG Rapture GT6

ASUS ROG Rapture GT6

Wi-Fi standard
Wi-Fi 6
Bands
Tri-band
Coverage
4,001 to 6,000 sq ft
Pack size
2 pack
Mesh
Yes
Multi-gig port
Yes
Gaming
Yes

$499.99 (as of 11/02/2026 21:56 PST - Details)

View on Amazon

The ASUS ROG Rapture GT6 ranks third: it names Wi-Fi 6, not Wi-Fi 7, but it states more title details than any other pick here (7), including gaming, tri-band, a 2-pack mesh, a stated coverage group and a multi-gig port. It leads the Wi-Fi 6 picks by that margin.

Pros

  • Gaming named in the title
  • Tri-band as stated
  • Multi-gig port named in the title
  • 2-pack mesh with coverage of 4,001 to 6,000 sq ft stated

Cons

  • No speed class stated by the seller
  • Wi-Fi 6 only, no newer standard in the title

Good fit if

  • A household that plays online and wants the title to name gaming
  • A buyer who wants a tri-band mesh with a multi-gig port named

Skip if

  • A buyer who wants Wi-Fi 7 in the title
  • A home that needs a stated speed class

Verdict: The ASUS ROG Rapture GT6 is the most detail-rich pick here, naming gaming, tri-band, a multi-gig port and a 2-pack mesh.

4 Wi-Fi 6 mesh bundle of two eero models

Amazon eero Pro 6E

Amazon eero Pro 6E

Wi-Fi standard
Wi-Fi 6
Mesh
Yes
Multi-gig port
Yes

$439.98 (as of 11/02/2026 21:46 PST - Details)

View on Amazon

The eero Pro 6E bundle ranks fourth: its title names Wi-Fi 6 and mesh, and the bundle in the title couples the eero Pro 6E with the eero 6+. It has fewer stated details than the ROG Rapture above it, so it sits second among the Wi-Fi 6 picks.

Pros

  • Wi-Fi 6 as stated in the title
  • Mesh system named
  • Two eero models named in the title (Pro 6E and 6+)

Cons

  • No bands stated by the seller
  • No coverage figure stated
  • No speed class or multi-gig port named

Good fit if

  • A household that wants a Wi-Fi 6 mesh with two eero models in one bundle
  • A buyer who wants mesh without a coverage claim in the title

Skip if

  • A buyer who needs a stated coverage figure
  • A home that wants Wi-Fi 7 or tri-band in the title

Verdict: The eero Pro 6E bundle is a Wi-Fi 6 mesh whose title names two eero models, ranking fourth on stated details.

5 Tri-band Wi-Fi 5 mesh with a stated speed class

ASUS Lyra Home Wi-Fi System

ASUS Lyra Home Wi-Fi System

Wi-Fi standard
Wi-Fi 5
Bands
Tri-band
Speed class
2001 to 5000
Coverage
4,001 to 6,000 sq ft
Pack size
3 pack or more
Mesh
Yes

$488.88 (as of 11/02/2026 21:55 PST - Details)

View on Amazon

The ASUS Lyra ranks fifth: its title names Wi-Fi 5, the oldest standard among picks with a standard stated, so it falls after the Wi-Fi 6 entries. It states six details (mesh, 3-pack, tri-band, speed class, coverage), second-most in this list.

Pros

  • Tri-band as stated in the title
  • Speed class group of 2,001 to 5,000 stated
  • 3-pack mesh with coverage of 4,001 to 6,000 sq ft stated
  • Wi-Fi 5 named in the title

Cons

  • Wi-Fi 5, the oldest standard named here
  • No multi-gig port named
  • No gaming or travel detail in the title

Good fit if

  • A household that wants a tri-band mesh with a stated speed class and coverage figure
  • A buyer who wants a 3-pack mesh under $500

Skip if

  • A buyer who wants Wi-Fi 6, 6E or 7 in the title
  • A home that needs a multi-gig port named

Verdict: The ASUS Lyra states six details, including tri-band and a speed class, and is the only Wi-Fi 5 pick here.

6 3-pack mesh with coverage up to 6,000 sq ft stated

Amazon eero 6+ mesh wifi system

Amazon eero 6+ mesh wifi system

Wi-Fi standard
Wi-Fi 6
Coverage
4,001 to 6,000 sq ft
Pack size
3 pack or more
Mesh
Yes

$439.98 (as of 11/02/2026 21:46 PST - Details)

View on Amazon

The eero 6+ ranks sixth: its title states no Wi-Fi standard, so it sits after all picks with a named standard. Its three stated details are mesh, a 3-pack and a coverage group of 4,001 to 6,000 sq ft, which leads it past the FRITZ!Box below.

Pros

  • Mesh system named
  • 3-pack as stated
  • Coverage of 4,001 to 6,000 sq ft stated

Cons

  • No Wi-Fi standard stated by the seller
  • No bands or speed class named
  • No multi-gig port named

Good fit if

  • A home that wants a 3-pack mesh with a stated coverage figure
  • A buyer who does not need a Wi-Fi standard named in the title

Skip if

  • A buyer who wants the Wi-Fi standard stated in the title
  • A household that needs tri-band or a multi-gig port

Verdict: The eero 6+ is a 3-pack mesh whose title states coverage up to 6,000 sq ft but no Wi-Fi standard, ranking sixth.

7 Dual-band cable router with gigabit Ethernet named

AVM Fritz Box 6690 Cable Wireless Router Gigabit Ethernet

AVM Fritz Box 6690 Cable Wireless Router Gigabit Ethernet

Bands
Dual-band

$467.00 (as of 11/02/2026 21:59 PST - Details)

View on Amazon

The FRITZ!Box 6690 ranks last: its title states no Wi-Fi standard, mesh or pack size, and only names dual-band. The title does call it a cable wireless router with gigabit Ethernet, but on stated details it has the fewest of any pick here.

Pros

  • Dual-band as stated in the title
  • Title names a cable wireless router
  • Gigabit Ethernet named in the title

Cons

  • No Wi-Fi standard stated by the seller
  • No mesh, pack size or coverage figure stated
  • No speed class or multi-gig port named

Good fit if

  • A buyer who wants a dual-band router whose title names cable and gigabit Ethernet
  • A household that does not need mesh or a stated coverage figure

Skip if

  • A home that wants a mesh system or a stated Wi-Fi standard
  • A buyer who needs a coverage figure in the title

Verdict: The FRITZ!Box 6690 is a dual-band cable wireless router with gigabit Ethernet named, but it states the fewest details in this list.

Side by side

#RouterWi-Fi standardBandsSpeed classCoveragePack sizeMesh
1Bundle of ASUS BD5 Dual-Band WiFi 7 MeshWi-Fi 7Dual-bandnot statednot stated3 pack or moreYes
2NETGEAR Nighthawk WiFi 7 Router RS600Wi-Fi 7Tri-bandOver 100002,001 to 4,000 sq ftnot statednot stated
3ASUS ROG Rapture GT6Wi-Fi 6Tri-bandnot stated4,001 to 6,000 sq ft2 packYes
4Amazon eero Pro 6EWi-Fi 6not statednot statednot statednot statedYes
5ASUS Lyra Home Wi-Fi SystemWi-Fi 5Tri-band2001 to 50004,001 to 6,000 sq ft3 pack or moreYes
6Amazon eero 6+ mesh wifi systemWi-Fi 6not statednot stated4,001 to 6,000 sq ft3 pack or moreYes
7AVM Fritz Box 6690 Cable Wireless Router Gigabit Ethernetnot statedDual-bandnot statednot statednot statednot stated

How we picked

This guide draws from a pool of 7 router listings whose live prices sat in the budget window set by the site rule for this guide's keyword. Every router in that window is included. Each listing is compared on the details its title states: Wi-Fi standard, bands, speed class group, coverage group, pack size, mesh, a named multi-gig port, gaming, travel, and 4G or 5G support. The guide reads only the title, never a measured speed, range or security result. Picks are ordered by the Wi-Fi standard the title names (Wi-Fi 7, then 6, then 5, then not stated), then by the number of other details stated (most first), then by the order in the pool. Live prices are printed on the page with their read times.

How to choose

What 'under $500' covers here

This guide's keyword is 'under $500', and the site rule sets a specific window for that keyword. Every router whose live price sat in that window at the time the pool was read is listed here; routers outside that window are not part of this guide. The page prints each live price with the time it was read, so the window is anchored to the prices on the page, not to a fixed retail price.

Mesh kit or single router

The titles in this list split between mesh systems and single routers. A mesh title names multiple units in the box (the pack), for example a 2-pack or 3-pack. A single router title names one unit, though a pack count may not be stated. The ASUS BD5 and eero 6+ are 3-pack mesh titles; the ASUS ROG Rapture is a 2-pack mesh; the NETGEAR RS600 is a single router with no pack stated. A mesh title suits a home that wants multiple access points, while a single router title suits a home that wants one device. This guide compares the titles as stated and never adds coverage figures across units.

Which Wi-Fi standard the title names

The title may name a Wi-Fi standard: Wi-Fi 7, Wi-Fi 6, or Wi-Fi 5 in this list. A newer standard only matters when the devices that will connect support it. The Wi-Fi Alliance's page on Wi-Fi generations (linked in sources) describes each generation; this guide reads only the standard named in the title, not a measured speed.

Pack size and coverage figures in a title

A title may state a pack size (1, 2, 3 or more units) and a coverage figure. This guide groups coverage as the title prints it: up to 2,000 sq ft, 2,001 to 4,000, 4,001 to 6,000, or over 6,000. For example, the eero 6+ title states coverage up to 6,000 sq ft and the ROG Rapture states a coverage group of 4,001 to 6,000 sq ft. Coverage figures in titles are the seller's own statement; this guide never adds together the coverage of multiple units and never turns a figure into a promise of real-world range.

What this guide leaves out (and why)

The catalogue holds no measured speed, range, latency, device count, port count, processor, memory or security outcome data. It reads only what a listing title states. That means this guide cannot tell you how a router performs in a measured sense, whether it is compatible with a specific internet provider, or how strong its security features are. The maker's own page, the provider's own requirements, and the official pages in the sources (the Wi-Fi Alliance, IEEE and NIST) are where to read about those. This guide compares each router on stated details and live prices only.

Questions

Does this guide cover real speed, range, security or provider compatibility?

No. This guide compares routers on the details each listing title states (Wi-Fi standard, bands, speed class group, coverage group, pack, mesh, multi-gig, gaming, travel, cellular) and on live prices. The catalogue holds no measured speed, range, latency, security outcome data or provider compatibility data. The maker's own page, the provider's own requirements, and the official pages in the sources (the Wi-Fi Alliance, IEEE and NIST) are where to read about those.

What does 'under $500' mean for this list?

The window is the price range defined by this guide's keyword, as set by the site rule. The keyword names a budget threshold, and the site rule defines a window that sits below that threshold. Every router whose live price sat in that window at the time the pool was read is listed here; routers outside that window are not covered. The page prints each live price with the time it was read, so the window tracks the prices on the page, not a fixed retail price.

Why is the Wi-Fi standard the first thing ranked?

The ordering rule in the method ranks picks by the Wi-Fi standard the title names first (Wi-Fi 7, then Wi-Fi 6, then Wi-Fi 5, then not stated), then by the number of other title details (bands, speed class, coverage, pack, mesh, multi-gig, gaming, travel, cellular), then by the order in the pool. That is why the ASUS BD5 (Wi-Fi 7 mesh) leads and the FRITZ!Box (no standard stated) sits last.

What is a speed class label like AC1200 or AX3000?

A speed class is a label on the box, for example AC2200 in the ASUS Lyra title. This guide groups those labels into ranges (up to 2000, 2001 to 5000, 5001 to 10000, over 10000) and compares them as stated. It is not a measured speed that any router will deliver. A speed class label tells you the class the box names, nothing more.

Can this guide tell whether a router works with an internet provider?

No. The catalogue does not name internet providers or state plan compatibility, and this guide never claims a router works with, is approved by, or replaces the equipment of a named provider. The reader checks the provider's own requirements. The title of a listing may state its own claim, for example 'supports internet plans up to a Gigabit', and that is quoted as the seller's statement, not as a promise.

Recent updates

  • : First published.

Sources

Related guides