How Much Power Does a Router Use? Energy Efficiency Guide
Short answer: Router power consumption is not a stated detail in this catalogue, so a listing title will not tell you the wattage. What you can read are the Wi-Fi standard (Wi-Fi 6, 6E, 7), the band count, and the pack size. The Wi-Fi Alliance describes power saving features such as Target Wake Time for Wi-Fi 6, and the reader should check the maker's page for the power draw of a specific model. Choose a router by the details you can compare and ask the maker directly about watts.
What power use means on a router listing
Every router is an always-on appliance: it draws electricity for as long as it is plugged in. The words 'power consumption', 'watts' and 'energy efficiency' can appear on a router's box, its power adapter or the maker's product page, but they are not part of the stated details this catalogue compares. A listing here tells you the Wi-Fi standard, the band count, the speed class, the pack size and the coverage label. It does not state how many watts a router draws.
Because the catalogue carries no power figures, this article explains what power consumption means as a term and where to look for the number. The maker's product page, the label on the power adapter and the printed manual are the places that state a specific figure, and the reader should read them before buying.
Why the catalogue does not state watts
The site compares routers on stated details: Wi-Fi standard, bands, mesh pack size, coverage group, multi-gig ports, gaming and travel features. Power consumption is not among those details, so no listing in a guide is ranked by watts. That is intentional: the picks are compared on the details the seller states, and power draw is something a maker reports in its own specifications.
When a listing is missing a detail, that usually means the seller did not state it in the title or bullet list. The fix is the same as for any other missing figure: read the maker's page for the exact model, then ask the maker if the page still does not answer the question. The best router guide compares the stated details that are available.
Power saving features in Wi-Fi standards
The Wi-Fi standard named in a listing carries power saving features that the Wi-Fi Alliance describes in its generation pages. For Wi-Fi 6, Target Wake Time (TWT) lets devices agree on when they wake to exchange data, which the Wi-Fi Alliance lists as an improvement to network efficiency and device battery life. Wi-Fi 4 introduced power saving features that allow longer sleep periods and reduce how often devices need to communicate with the network.
These features belong to the standard, not to a promise of a lower electricity bill. A router that supports Wi-Fi 6 or 7 may include TWT, but the watts the router itself draws are still a maker-stated number. Read the Wi-Fi Alliance page for the feature list and the maker's page for the model's power figure. A Wi-Fi 6 router listing names the standard, and the standard tells you which features are in it.
How to shop when the watts are missing
Choose a router by the details you can compare: the Wi-Fi standard (6, 6E or 7), the number of bands, and the pack size. If energy use matters to you, read the maker's page for that exact model and look for the power adapter rating and any energy information the maker publishes. Ask the maker directly if the page does not list it.
A mesh kit with three units will have three power adapters, one per unit, while a single router has one. That difference is visible in the pack size on the listing, and it is a reasonable thing to weigh when a household wants one box instead of several. The mesh system guide and the mesh expandability article describe how kits are listed. No coverage or speed claim is made here.
Placement and care for a router
The maker's manual describes where a router belongs: on an open shelf, in a central spot, away from metal objects and with space around the case so air can move. Dust builds up on the case over time, and wiping the outside with a dry cloth is part of routine care. The manual, not this article, is the guide for wall mounting and for what surface the router can sit on.
Keep the power adapter that came in the box. If an adapter fails, replacement should come from the maker or the seller, not from a drawer of spare bricks. A surge protector or power strip is a separate purchase, and the reader should follow the manual's power advice. See the placement tips article and the cooling and fan article for the shopping angle on these topics.
Questions to ask the maker about power
When a listing does not state power use, the questions below are the ones to put to the maker before a purchase.
- What is the power draw in watts for this model, and is it stated on the adapter label?
- Does the router support Target Wake Time or other power saving features from its Wi-Fi standard?
- For a mesh kit, what does each unit draw, and can the satellite units be scheduled or turned off?
- For a travel router, can it be powered from a USB port on a laptop or a power bank, and what does the manual say?
- What is the operating temperature range, and where should the router be placed in a home?
- Is there a power adapter in the box, or is a separate adapter needed?
What to pick for your situation
| If you | Pick | Buying guide |
|---|---|---|
| You want one router and will read the maker's page for its wattage | A single router listing | Best Router (2026): Wi-Fi Router Reviews |
| You want a mesh kit and accept one power adapter per unit | A mesh kit listing | Best Mesh Wi-Fi Systems in 2026: 15 Picks by Stated Details |
| You want a Wi-Fi 6 router with Target Wake Time in the standard | A Wi-Fi 6 router | Best Wi-Fi 6 Routers in 2026: 14 Picks by Stated Details |
| You want the newest standard with the largest speed class | A Wi-Fi 7 router | Best Wi-Fi 7 Routers in 2026: 15 Picks by Stated Details |
| You travel and want a router that can use USB power | A travel router | Best Travel Routers in 2026: 13 Picks by Stated Details |
| You need a SIM slot for a backup line | A cellular router | Best Cellular Routers in 2026: 7 Picks by Stated Details |
Questions
Does a router use a lot of electricity?
A router is a small always-on appliance, but this catalogue does not state its power draw, so no figure can be given here. The wattage is on the maker's page or the power adapter label, and that is the number to read. A mesh kit draws through one adapter per unit, and a travel router may draw through a USB port.
Why don't router listings state watts?
The catalogue compares on stated details such as Wi-Fi standard, bands, mesh pack size and coverage group. Power consumption is not among those details, so a listing title and bullet list will not show it. The reader checks the maker's page for the model's power figure.
Does a mesh kit use more power than a single router?
A mesh kit with three units has three power adapters, one per unit, while a single router has one. The pack size on the listing shows that difference. How many watts each unit draws is on the maker's page for that model.
Can I reduce what a router draws?
The Wi-Fi Alliance describes power saving features in the standards, such as Target Wake Time for Wi-Fi 6 and longer sleep periods introduced in Wi-Fi 4. For a specific router, the maker's manual and product page describe its settings and scheduling options. Following the manual's placement advice helps a router run within its stated operating conditions.
Where do I find the wattage?
On the maker's product page, on the label of the power adapter, and in the printed manual that comes in the box. If none of those state it, ask the maker's support before buying.
Is 'energy efficient' a rating on this site?
No. Energy efficiency is not a stated detail in the catalogue, so no guide ranks a router by it. The site compares the details the seller states, and power use is a maker-reported number.
Recent updates
- : First published.